Close×

I'm selling my house: who will pay the notary fees?

Have you sold your home at a good price? Congratulations! But who's going to pay the notary fees associated with this transaction? Here are a few explanations.

When you sell a piece of land, a house or a condo, the notary acts for you as well as for the buyer. In effect, the notary is doing work for both parties, and each will have to pay the fees associated with the verifications carried out on their own behalf. But who chooses the notary? The buyer or the seller? In principle, it depends on the agreement between the parties. For example, the seller of a house may want his notary to handle the transaction. In this case, the notary's name appears on the offer to purchase. If the buyer signs this document, he or she will be presumed to have accepted the conditions set out therein, and will be bound by them.

In the absence of such an agreement, a distinction must be made. If the buyer pays the purchase price in full - with a mortgage or his own money - the choice is his. On the other hand, if the purchase price is not paid in full, and a balance must be paid by the buyer to the seller, then the latter may choose the notary.

Who pays for what?

In practice, the promise to purchase will determine who is responsible for paying the costs of the property purchase. Failing agreement, the buyer will pay the transaction fees to the notary he has chosen to prepare the file. As a result, the buyer will be responsible for the fees associated with the notarized contract of sale, publication costs, copies of the deed and title examination. However, the seller may be required to pay a fee for services other than those provided by the buyer.

In a real estate transaction, the seller is obliged to provide the buyer with clear title deeds. The notary will carry out the necessary verifications, at the seller's expense.

Mortgage write-off

If the seller has taken out a mortgage loan to purchase the property, and there is still a balance to pay, the notary must ensure that the loan is repaid in full in order to proceed with the sale. The notary will reimburse the seller's lender from the proceeds of the sale and obtain the cancellation of the seller's mortgage guarantee, which he will then publish in the Land Register. The seller will have to pay the notary's fees to prepare and obtain this cancellation.

Verification of tax payments

The notary must also ensure that all municipal and school taxes have been paid by the vendor by obtaining official tax statements from the municipality, and pay the balance due, if applicable. The notary is also entitled to charge a fee for carrying out this verification and making the necessary tax payments.

Examples of fees that the seller may also have to pay :

  • Obtain the statement of account from the seller's mortgagee, repay the balance of the loan, prepare the deed of cancellation and publish it in the Land Register;
  • Obtain municipal, school and water tax statements;
  • Obtain a statement of charges for a condominium;
  • Obtaining title insurance;
  • Preparation of the new mandatory form by the Land Registry;
  • Transfer of funds;
  • Proxy preparation;
  • Trust fund holdback including holdback agreement and management;
  • Bridge-loan;
  • Meeting deferred from that of the buyer at the seller's request;
  • Declaration of transfer of a property;
  • Regularization of title defects, etc.

The seller must also reimburse the notary for any out-of-pocket expenses incurred on his behalf, including :

  • Cost of publishing the deed of cancellation in the Land Register;
  • Fees for official municipal and school tax statements;
  • Cost of obtaining a statement of condominium charges;
  • Title insurance premium;
  • Bank transfer fees for payment of real estate broker, certificate of location, tax arrears;
  • Management fees for trust accounting performed for the seller;
  • Copies of deeds;
  • Courier charges, etc.

Keep in mind that the notary's bill includes fees, disbursements and taxes (GST and QST).

How to estimate the fees to be paid

To find out the fees for a particular service (such as selling or buying a house, or settling an estate), simply contact your notary.

He'll ask you a few questions to get a clear idea of your needs, and analyze the complexity of the case and the time he'll need to devote to it. The notary will then send you his assessment. Note that this may be revised if the situation so requires, but the notary will advise you beforehand. The notary may also suggest that you sign a fee agreement or professional mandate detailing the services to be rendered and the related fees. This document constitutes an agreement between you and your notary.

Disagreement on fees?

If you feel that the fees charged by the notary are unjustified, you can submit a request to the Chambre des notaires' fee account conciliation service.

Fermer×
Retour aux actualités

Je vends ma maison : qui paiera les frais de notaire?

Vous avez vendu votre maison à un bon prix? Bravo! Mais qui va payer les frais de notaire relatifs à cette transaction? Voici quelques éclaircissements à ce sujet.

Lorsque vous vendez un terrain, une maison ou un condo, le notaire agit pour vous autant que pour l’acheteur. En effet, ce juriste réalise du travail pour les deux parties et chacune devra assumer les honoraires liés aux vérifications effectuées pour son propre compte. Mais qui choisit le notaire? L’acheteur ou le vendeur? En principe, cela dépend de l’entente prise par les parties. Par exemple, il est possible que le vendeur d’une maison souhaite que son notaire s’occupe de la transaction. Il inscrira alors le nom de celui-ci dans l’offre d’achat. Si l’acheteur signe ce document, il sera présumé avoir accepté les conditions qui s’y trouvent et devra les respecter.

En l’absence d’une telle entente, une distinction s’impose. Si l’acheteur paie le prix d’achat en totalité – avec un prêt hypothécaire ou son argent – le choix lui revient. En revanche, si le prix de vente n’est pas entièrement acquitté et qu’un solde doit être payé par l’acheteur au vendeur, dans ce cas ce dernier pourra choisir le notaire.

Qui paye quoi?

En pratique, la promesse d’achat déterminera qui aura à payer les frais concernant l’achat de la propriété. À défaut d’entente, l’acheteur paiera les frais de la transaction au notaire qu’il aura choisi pour préparer le dossier. Par conséquent, les honoraires liés au contrat de vente notarié, les frais de publication, les copies de l’acte et l’examen des titres seront à la charge de l’acheteur. Mais le vendeur pourrait être tenu de payer une somme pour des services différents de ceux assumés par l’acheteur.

Lors d’une transaction immobilière, le vendeur a l’obligation de fournir des titres clairs à l’acheteur. Ce sera le notaire qui effectuera les vérifications nécessaires à cet effet et le vendeur en assumera donc les frais.

Radiation du prêt hypothécaire

Si le vendeur avait contracté un prêt hypothécaire pour acheter sa propriété et qu’il reste un solde à payer, le notaire doit s’assurer que le prêt est remboursé en totalité afin de procéder à la vente. Il remboursera le prêteur du vendeur à même l’argent de la vente et obtiendra la radiation de la garantie du prêt hypothécaire du vendeur, qu’il publiera ensuite au Registre foncier. Le vendeur devra donc assumer les honoraires du notaire pour préparer et obtenir cette radiation.

Vérification du paiement des taxes

Le notaire devra aussi s’assurer que toutes les taxes municipales et scolaires ont été payées par le vendeur en obtenant les relevés de taxes officiels de la municipalité et payer le solde dû, s’il y a lieu. Il est aussi en droit de facturer des honoraires pour effectuer cette vérification et procéder au paiement des taxes qui s’impose.

Exemples d’honoraires que le vendeur pourrait également avoir à payer :

  • Obtention de l’état de compte du créancier hypothécaire du vendeur, remboursement du solde du prêt, préparation de l’acte de radiation et publication au Registre foncier;
  • Obtention des relevés de taxes municipales, scolaires, eau;
  • Obtention de l’état des charges pour une copropriété;
  • Obtention d’une assurance-titre;
  • Préparation du nouveau formulaire obligatoire par le Registre foncier;
  • Transfert de fonds;
  • Préparation de procuration;
  • Retenue de fonds en fidéicommis incluant la convention de retenue et la gestion;
  • Prêt-pont (bridge-loan);
  • Rencontre différée de celle de l’acheteur à la demande du vendeur;
  • Déclaration de transmission d’un immeuble;
  • Régularisation des vices de titres, etc.

Le vendeur doit également rembourser les sommes que le notaire a déboursées pour lui, notamment :

  • Frais de publication de l’acte de radiation au Registre foncier;
  • Frais d’obtention des relevés de taxes municipales et scolaires officiels;
  • Frais d’obtention de l’état des charges de la copropriété;
  • Prime d’assurance-titre;
  • Frais de virements bancaires destinés au paiement du courtier immobilier, du certificat de localisation, des arrérages de taxes;
  • Frais de gestion de la comptabilité en fidéicommis effectuée pour le vendeur;
  • Copies d’actes;
  • Frais de messagerie, etc.

Gardez en tête que la facture du notaire comprend ses honoraires, les déboursés ainsi que les taxes (TPS et TVQ).

Comment évaluer les honoraires à payer

Pour connaître les honoraires liés à un service (vente, achat d’une maison ou règlement d’une succession par exemple), vous n’avez qu’à communiquer avec votre notaire.

Il vous posera quelques questions pour bien cerner vos besoins, analysera la complexité du dossier et le temps qu’il devra y consacrer. Le notaire vous transmettra par la suite son évaluation. Notez que celle-ci pourrait être révisée si la situation l’exige, mais le notaire vous en avisera au préalable. Il pourrait également vous proposer de signer une convention d’honoraires ou un mandat professionnel qui détaillera les services à rendre et les honoraires qui y sont liés. Ce document constituera une entente entre vous et votre notaire.

Désaccord sur les honoraires ?

Si vous estimez que les honoraires facturés par le notaire ne sont pas justifiés, vous pouvez adresser une demande au service de conciliation des comptes d’honoraires de la Chambre des notaires.