Close×

Let's talk divorce!

You've been living apart for a few months now and there's no chance of reconciliation? It's time to make the situation official and start divorce proceedings. The law has changed, and here are the changes that could affect you.

 

For whom?

On March1, 2021, the new provisions of the Divorce Act came into force. These changes focus primarily on children's rights and will apply to all separating married couples with minor or dependent children.

This does not apply to civil union spouses or de facto spouses, precisely because they have not married and divorce is intended to dissolve the marriage.

However, some of these new provisions are already being put into practice by many family mediators for all types of couples. For example, the law now refers to "parental time". In mediation, asking separating parents how they want to share the child's time is less aggressive and encourages negotiation, whether they are married, in a civil union or common-law. The real or perceived win/lose vision implied by the terms "custody" and "access" has thus been set aside by many mediators, who have put forward a vocabulary more likely to foster collaboration between parents.

 

About what?

The child's safety and physical, psychological and emotional well-being are at the heart of this reform. The law lists certain criteria for assessing them, while recognizing that there are others, and that none is decisive. These include the child's age, bonding, history of care and violence.

You've probably heard it said that shared custody (50/50) best meets the needs of children, that custody of a two-year-old toddler should be entrusted to his mother because she best meets the needs of a little one of that age, and so on. The new law rejects these overly general ideas and recommends instead a personal analysis of each child's case.

To refocus decisions on the young person's needs, the vocabulary used has also changed. We'll be talking about "parental time" and "decision-making responsibilities" rather than "custody rights".

With regard to parental responsibilities, for example, the law defines two types: the most important (decision-making responsibilities), which concern health, education, culture, language, etc., and which will be the subject of the judgment or agreement. Then there are those of lesser importance (day-to-day responsibilities), which will be exercised by the person who has parenting time while the child is with him or her, without interference from the other parent. We're talking here about supervision of homework and lessons, bedtime, feeding, household chores and so on.

The term "contact" refers to people other than parents who may be granted time with the child. For example, an agreement or judgment may provide for time with a grandparent if he or she is the most appropriate person to meet certain of the child's needs, or with the ex-lover of one of the parents who developed significant emotional ties with the child when they were living under the same roof.

What happens when one parent decides to move? Can he or she move with the child, or does the other parent have to agree? This situation was not regulated by law, but from now on, if a move has a major impact on the child's ties with the other parents, 60 days' notice of the move must be sent to the other parent, along with a proposal for a new parenting-time arrangement. The other parent will have 30 days to object to the move and, if so, it will be up to the court to issue an order authorizing or refusing the move.

Finally, the new law emphasizes the fight against violence in all its forms. To give just a few examples, from now on, parental time will also take into account the behavior of a parent's spouse, violence towards another family member or even violence towards an animal.

For more details, including the reasons behind the changes, please visit the Government of Canada website Divorce Act Amendments Explained.

 

Amicable divorce: the notary can help you

Since 2017, the law has recognized amicable divorce as a non-contentious procedure, i.e. a legal procedure where there is no dispute. Ex-spouses now have a choice of professional who can help them bring their divorce to a successful conclusion. Notaries are also empowered to represent the parties in a joint request for a draft agreement, a step previously reserved for lawyers. Recognized as the lawyer of the agreement, the notary works in the field of agreement and prevention rather than conflict. The notary therefore adds considerable value to the amicable divorce process.

Divorce is never easy, and it's important to have the right people around you at this crucial stage in your life. Notaries working in the field of family law, and more specifically in the dissolution of unions, keep their knowledge up to date on the latest legal developments in the field to better advise citizens and help them make judicious choices. Do not hesitate to consult them.

 

Family mediation pilot project

Are you separating but have no dependent children? You may be entitled to three hours of mediation subsidized by the Quebec government. In the past, only couples with children had access to subsidized mediation hours. This pilot project began in February 2021 and will run until June 30, 2022. Visit the Quebec government website to find out more: family mediation pilot project for couples without children or without dependent common children.

Fermer×
Retour aux actualités

Parlons divorce!

Vous vivez séparés depuis quelques mois et il n’y a pas de réconciliation possible? Il est temps d’officialiser la situation et d’entamer la procédure de divorce. La loi a changé et voici les modifications qui pourraient vous toucher.

 

Pour qui?

Le 1er mars 2021 sont entrées en vigueur les nouvelles dispositions de la Loi sur le divorce. Ces changements portent essentiellement sur les droits des enfants et s’appliqueront à tous les couples mariés qui se séparent avec des enfants mineurs ou à charge.

Cela ne concerne pas les conjoints unis civilement ou les conjoints de fait, justement parce qu’ils ne se sont pas mariés et que le divorce vise à dissoudre le mariage.

Toutefois, certaines de ces nouvelles dispositions sont déjà mises en pratique par plusieurs médiateurs familiaux pour tous les types de couples. Par exemple, la loi parle désormais de « temps parental ». En médiation, demander à des parents en processus de séparation comment ils veulent partager le temps de l’enfant est moins agressif et favorise la négociation, qu’ils soient mariés, unis civilement ou conjoints de fait. La vision de gagnant/perdant, réelle ou perçue, qu’impliquent les termes « garde » et « droit de visite », a donc été mise de côté par plusieurs médiateurs qui ont mis de l’avant un vocabulaire plus susceptible de favoriser la collaboration entre parents.

 

À propos de quoi?

La sécurité et le bien-être physique, psychologique et affectif de l’enfant sont au cœur de cette réforme. La loi énumère certains critères pour les évaluer, tout en reconnaissant qu’il y en a d’autres et qu’aucun n’est déterminant. Parmi eux, mentionnons notamment l’âge de l’enfant, ses liens affectifs, l’historique des soins et la violence.

Vous avez certainement entendu dire que la garde partagée (50/50) est celle qui répond le mieux aux besoins des enfants, que la garde d’un bambin de deux ans devrait être confiée à sa mère parce que c’est elle qui répond le mieux aux besoins d’un petit de cet âge, etc. La nouvelle loi rejette ces idées trop générales et recommande plutôt une analyse personnelle du cas de chaque enfant.

Pour recentrer les décisions sur les besoins du jeune, le vocabulaire utilisé a aussi changé. On parlera donc de « temps parental » et de « responsabilités décisionnelles » plutôt que de « droit de garde ».

Concernant les responsabilités des parents par exemple, la loi en détermine deux types : les plus importantes (responsabilités décisionnelles) qui touchent la santé, l’éducation, la culture, la langue, etc., et sur lesquelles le jugement ou l’entente portera. Puis celles de moindre importance (responsabilités quotidiennes) qui seront exercées par la personne qui a du temps parental pendant que l’enfant est avec lui, sans ingérence de l’autre parent. On parle ici de supervision des devoirs et leçons, de l’heure du coucher, de l’alimentation, des tâches ménagères, etc.

Le terme « contact » quant à lui, vise les personnes autres que les parents qui pourront se voir accorder du temps avec l’enfant. Par exemple, il sera possible qu’une entente ou un jugement prévoie du temps avec un grand-parent si celui-ci est la personne la plus appropriée pour combler certains besoins de l’enfant, ou encore avec l’ex-amoureux d’un des parents qui avait développé des liens affectifs importants avec l’enfant lorsqu’ils vivaient sous le même toit.

Qu’arrive-t-il quand l’un des parents décide de déménager? Peut-il le faire avec l’enfant, doit-il obtenir l’accord de l’autre? Cette situation n’était pas encadrée par la loi, mais dorénavant, si un déménagement a une incidence majeure sur les liens de l’enfant avec les autres, un avis de 60 jours avant le déménagement devra être envoyé à l’autre parent, accompagné d’une proposition d’un nouvel arrangement du temps parental. L’autre parent aura un délai de 30 jours pour s’opposer au déménagement et, si c’est le cas, il reviendra au tribunal d’émettre une ordonnance autorisant ou refusant celui-ci.

Enfin, la nouvelle loi met l’accent sur la lutte contre la violence sous toutes ses formes. Pour ne citer que quelques exemples, désormais, pour établir le temps parental, on tiendra également compte du comportement du conjoint d’un des parents ou encore de la violence envers un autre membre de la famille ou même de celle exercée envers un animal.

Pour plus de détails à ce sujet, incluant les raisons motivant les changements,  vous pouvez consulter le site du gouvernement du Canada Modifications à la Loi sur le divorce expliquées.

 

Divorce à l’amiable : le notaire peut vous aider

Depuis 2017, la loi reconnaît que le divorce à l’amiable est une procédure non contentieuse, c’est-à-dire une procédure judiciaire où il n’y a pas de litige. Les ex-conjoints ont désormais le choix du professionnel qui pourra les aider à mener à terme leur divorce. Les notaires sont aussi habilités à représenter les parties à une demande conjointe sur projet d’accord, alors que cette démarche était auparavant réservée aux avocats. Reconnu comme le juriste de l’entente, le notaire travaille sur le terrain de l’accord et de la prévention plutôt que sur celui des conflits. Il a donc une grande valeur ajoutée dans le processus d’un divorce à l’amiable.

Un divorce n’est jamais facile et il faut bien s’entourer dans cette étape cruciale de l’existence. Les notaires œuvrant dans le domaine du droit de la famille, et plus spécifiquement dans la dissolution des unions, tiennent leurs connaissances à jour sur les derniers développements légaux dans le domaine afin de mieux conseiller les citoyens et les aider à faire des choix judicieux. N’hésitez pas à les consulter.

 

Projet-pilote en médiation familiale

Vous vous séparez, mais vous n’avez pas d’enfants à charge? Vous pourriez avoir droit à trois heures de médiation subventionnées par le gouvernement du Québec. Par le passé, seuls les couples avec enfant avaient accès à des heures de médiation subventionnées. Ce projet pilote a débuté en février 2021 et se terminera le 30 juin 2022. Consultez le site du gouvernement du Québec pour en savoir plus : projet pilote de médiation familiale pour les couples sans enfant ou sans enfant commun à charge.