Close×

How easy is it to settle disputes on sharing economy platforms?

Montreal, March 4, 2020 - Many consumers do business with sharing economy platforms like Airbnb, Uber, Kijiji or Kickstarter, but when a problem arises, are the remedies provided by these companies readily available to consumers? Option consommateurs argues in a report released today that seeking justice through these mechanisms can be costly and complex.

To arrive at these conclusions, Option consommateurs analyzed the terms of use of ten of these platforms, and gathered consumer perceptions and experiences of these remedies.

Numerous clauses likely to limit access to justice have been identified in these companies' documents. In some cases, consumers may be forced to travel to California, New York or even Amsterdam to assert their rights. Even so, some platforms are trying to accommodate consumers.

"Consumers are also often asked to waive their right to sue class action , in addition to mandatory arbitration clauses. One platform even goes so far as to stipulate that, in the event of legal action, the user undertakes to defend it, and to pay legal fees in particular," lamentsMe Clarisse N'Kaa, author of the study at Option consommateurs.

Thus, rather than resorting to these mechanisms, the users surveyed preferred to contact their credit card issuer or use the platforms' internal measures to obtain a refund or cancel the service. The analysis also revealed a lack of clarity in the information provided, as well as a tendency to presume consumer consent, leading to a lack of awareness among consumers of their rights and remedies.

Option consommateurs asks the government to use the study's findings to provide a specific framework for the sharing economy that facilitates consumer access to justice.

The research "Dispute resolution mechanisms proposed by sharing economy platforms - Effective tools for access to justice?" was carried out thanks to a contribution from the Office of Consumer Affairs of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

About Option consommateurs

Option consommateurs is a not-for-profit association whose mission is to defend the rights and interests of consumers. It is closely involved in issues related to personal finance, business practices, financial services, protection of personal information, energy, health and agri-food.

-30-

For more information or an interview:

Marie-Ève Dumont, Communications Consultant

514-777-6133

[email protected]

 

English summary

Donnez
Retour aux actualités

Facile de régler ses différends sur les plateformes d’économie de partage?

Montréal, le 4 mars 2020 –  Nombreux sont les consommateurs qui font affaire avec des plateformes d’économie de partage comme Airbnb, Uber, Kijiji ou Kickstarter, mais lorsque survient un problème, les recours prévus par ces entreprises sont-ils facilement accessibles aux consommateurs? Option consommateurs soutient dans un rapport publié aujourd’hui que les démarches pour obtenir justice à l’aide de ces mécanismes peuvent s’avérer coûteuses et complexes.

Pour arriver à de telles conclusions, Option consommateurs a analysé les conditions d’utilisation de dix  de ces plateformes et a recueilli les perceptions et expériences de consommateurs en regard de ces recours.

De nombreuses clauses susceptibles de limiter l’accès à la justice ont été identifiées dans des documents de ces entreprises. Dans certains cas, le consommateur pourrait être contraint de se déplacer en Californie, à New York ou même à Amsterdam pour faire valoir ses droits.  Tout de même, certaines plateformes tentent d’accommoder le consommateur.

«On demande aussi souvent au consommateur de renoncer à intenter une action collective en plus d’y trouver des clauses d’arbitrage obligatoire. Une plateforme va même jusqu’à prévoir qu’en cas de poursuites, l’utilisateur s’engage à la défendre et à assumer notamment des frais d’avocats», déplore Me Clarisse N’Kaa, auteure de l’étude chez Option consommateurs.

Ainsi, plutôt que de recourir à ces mécanismes, les utilisateurs interrogés ont préféré s’adresser à l’émetteur de leur carte de crédit ou se sont servis des mesures internes aux plateformes afin d’obtenir un remboursement ou l’annulation du service. L’analyse a aussi permis de constater un manque de clarté dans l’information offerte ainsi qu’une tendance à présumer du consentement du consommateur, ce qui induit, chez eux, une méconnaissance de leurs droits et de leurs recours.

Option consommateurs demande au gouvernement de se servir des constats de l’étude afin d’offrir un encadrement spécifique à l’économie de partage qui facilite l’accès des consommateurs à la justice.

La recherche « Les mécanismes de règlement des différends proposés par les plateformes de l’économie du partage – Des outils efficaces pour l’accès à la justice?» a été réalisée grâce à une contribution du Bureau de la consommation d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

À propos d’Option consommateurs

Option consommateurs est une association sans but lucratif ayant pour mission de défendre les droits et les intérêts des consommateurs. Elle s’intéresse de près aux questions liées aux finances personnelles, aux pratiques commerciales, aux services financiers, à la protection des renseignements personnels, à l’énergie, à la santé et à l’agroalimentaire.

-30-

Pour plus d’informations ou une entrevue:

Marie-Ève Dumont, conseillère en communications

514-777-6133

medumont@option-consommateurs.org

 

English summary